SAYING FAREWELL

 

Maybe I’d been glooming over the fact that I would not be here for the federal election or maybe I’d been asleep and missed his arrival but suddenly there he was.  “Hey, Newshawk Old Friend! “ I said, “ Where’ve you been?”  I’d insulted him awhile ago and was a little worried.  “You been sulking?  If so, I’m sorry.”

He just shrugged and did his little keyboard dance.  “No. Just sleeping I guess, same as you.  It’s those pain killers you’re taking.  You sleep, I sleep.  That’s what an alter ego does.”

“You! My alter ego?  My other self!  You!  An insect!”

“Of course.  Older, tougher, better organized, smarter – and hey, it’s time for some straight talk.”  He stamped on the shift key to inflate what he wanted to say. “Something’s bugging you – other than me.”

“You’re right, Old Friend.  I’m trying to figure out how to say ‘good bye’ – or if to say ‘goodbye’.”

“You can’t say ‘goodbye’ to an alter ego! I go where you go!”

“Not just to you.  To everybody.  To everything.”

Suddenly he looked depressed and, stepping off the shift key, did a slow hop-n-shuffle across the keyboard.  “Oh, oh,” he typed, “ I knew this was coming.  A couple of years ago when you found you were not only a nonagenarian but also way in deep with prostate cancer – top of the Gleason scale – those philosophical talks with your doctor about quality of life being far more important than extending it?  Remember?”

“Yeah.  That could have been a dilemma.  To go for surgical or other heroics or slow the cancer down by the anti-testosterone route and simply delay the almost inevitable bone cancer.  In my 60s that might have been a no-brainer but, hey, the 90s looked terminal all by themselves.”

“So that’s why the doc’s been upgrading our pain pills?”

“Yeah.  You weren’t paying attention but a bone scan just before last Christmas showed those little coloured spots.  Osteoblastic metastasis they call it.  The bone thickens in places. Hardens.  Swells.  Causes nerve problems.  Pain.  Anywhere in the skeleton. Mostly at night.  Hard to sleep.  The knack is to get the right drugs to subdue the pain without wiping a guy out for the next day.  Maintaining quality of life, see?  The doc’s been a genius.  But that recent weekend.  Remember, Old Friend?  You were feeling we should be writing something about today’s bizarre politics and I told you to get lost.”

“You told me to – “

“Never mind. The point is, that weekend – my god, why on a weekend of all times! – the blasted Osteoblastic did a blast off.  Launched a surge to overwhelm the pills.  The bad against the good.  It was two nights and a day of – well, it’s hard to describe – one shin bone, across the pelvis, from centre of  back out to a hip, across the rib cage and in one arm, even my jaw – it was like a tourist’s sample cocktail of Hell’s torture.  After all, the pain killers were still in me and this could happen!  Then the genius doc got me back on track – palliative they call it – without blowing my mind. Which is not easy and is the point of it all. And of course can’t last.  Doesn’t last.  Get a pain hit every now and then.  Up the pills. Eventually – well – Sayonara – and not nicely.”

Newshawk did another slow shuffle-hop on the keys. “So where does that leave us?”

“Well, like I said, trying to figure out how to say ‘goodbye’.

“Sounds to me like you’re planning on using that new law?”

“The MAiD ? Medical Assistance in Dying? Yes. You bet. And with heart felt thanks to Jody Wilson-Raybould, our ex-Minister of Justice who managed to create it.  Lots of glitches, gremlins and paradoxes in it for future fine tuning but even now, what a blessing.  May she be re-elected. I’ve already signed the MAiD forms and, well, you know – every journey has that first step.”

“And soon ‘goodbye’ is for real.”

“You bet. No ‘Be seein’ ya’ or ‘Hasta la vista’ or ‘Au revoir’.  Just ‘Farewell’.  Except for you, because we’ll go together.  My alter ego and I.  Been fun, pal.”

“Yeah.  And I’m sorry. I’ve been sleeping even more than you.  You’ve been so blasted busy writing and I can’t figure what or why so have just been going back to sleep.”

“My fine little alter ego, good for you. And soon I’ll sleep, too. But during what time may be left I’m writing a play to explain to other geezers how this all goes down. This cancer’s scary, but we imagine it into being scarier than it has to be.”

Newshawk look bemused for a moment then suddenly brightened.  “Hey,” he typed, “that’s a grandly useful idea.  Have we got a publisher?”

“More importantly — no publisher has us.”

He appeared bemused for a moment then shuffled over a few keys. “Okay my guru, my mentor, my master. I hope you can figure out how to say that goodbye.  You’re not one for that God-be-with-thee.”

“Come off it, Newshawk Old Friend.  What to say is one thing.  Simply ‘farewell’.  But we writers feel there should be a final message – you know, a little wisdom.  Hey, don’t gag.”

“I’m not gagging. I’m laughing.  You!  Wisdom!  Have a go at it.  I can’t wait.”

“But Newshawk, Old Friend, I have no words of encouragement in the midst of the shambles our species is creating for itself.  Homo Stupiditis, for sure.   But there is an election coming with slogans all over the place —  so all I can propose is to harken back to a phrase from World War Two and put our faith in it.”

“And that is?”

Carry on Canada!

“Hey,” he typed, “let me do it.” He took a deep breath and almost threw himself onto the “SEND”.

 

Copyright©Munroe Scott 2019

About Munroe Scott

Munroe Scott is a veteran of the freelance writing world.
This entry was posted in Article, Climate, Opinion, Politics and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to SAYING FAREWELL

  1. Dave Valentine says:

    Just Thanks, Monroe.
    Dave Valentine

  2. Monroe thank you for letting us get to know you. I haven’t retained much from my Catholic upbringing but this still sticks with me. When the mass was over the priest would say “Go in peace”.
    I wish you peace.
    Susan

  3. Cheryl Lewis says:

    Thank you Munroe for all your insights, wonderful rants, great humour and wisdom. I remember with such fondness the poem you wrote and read for Ev Brooks’ birthday a few years ago, and the sparkle in your eye as you read it. I think that was the time my husband Phil and I gave you a drive from Peterborough to Lindsay for dinner at Gael and Ev’s. Gael has been sharing with me some of your stories from Always an Updraft. An amazing life!

    It was a great pleasure to have met you through Gael and Ev. I hope these last days are filled with a rich mixture of love, laughter and good memories, and very little pain.

    Cheryl Lewis (Peterborough)

    On Wed, Sep 11, 2019 at 8:34 AM Return To Paradox wrote:

    > Munroe Scott posted: ” Maybe I’d been glooming over the fact that I would > not be here for the federal election or maybe I’d been asleep and missed > his arrival but suddenly there he was. “Hey, Newshawk Old Friend! “ I > said, “ Where’ve you been?” I’d insulted him awhile” >

  4. John DiPede says:

    Monroe, wishing you peace….sending you love from all your friends at West Hill United.

  5. So privileged to have known you Munroe. Thank you for your wonderful work in deposing Harper. I share your grief about Homo Stupiditis, but thankfully there have been people like you making the world better.
    May your passing be kind and may you Rest In Peace my friend.
    Love, Colette

  6. Jean Koning says:

    Thanks for this, Munroe. A very classy piece, as is all your writing. May you know the strength of eagle wings carrying you into the future of a classy and happy ever after. And at 96, I’m not far behind.

    Blessings,
    Jean.

    Jean Koning
    Peterborough Ontario
    705-743-2270
    koningskomments@blogspot.ca

  7. You once called my husband and me your guardian angels. Two years ago, we stood by my father -in-law through hospice. It was a lovely passing–peaceful, chosen, complete. I think you’re making a wise and beautiful decision. They say to truly live you must plant a tree, have a child, and write a book. Two of these I know you’ve done. If you haven’t yet planted a tree, I hope you consider a burial pod where your body will nourish the roots of a sapling. It somehow seems fitting, knowing how you’ve spent a lifetime feeding wisdom to those around you. We’ll always remember your gratitude and heart. Safe travels to the mysterious beyond, my friend, from your angels.

    • Munroe Scott says:

      You were indeed my angels and I was upset to realize that I missed telling you again on the anniversary this year. I remember you were practising the idea of “pasing it on” after receiving similar help. I never expected to have angels send me to my sleep but am delighted to know who they are!

  8. Valerie hewlitt says:

    Pain is excruciating I agree but we will miss you
    Love. Valerie and alex

    • Munroe Scott says:

      Great to hear from you Valerie and Alex. And don’t misunderstand. Thanks to the assistance being given to me I am not in pain because here the system is really working. Would that everyone could be so fortunate.

  9. kathrynlangley2012 says:

    I am very very sad. It is sad saying farewell to a valued friend. I truly appreciate all that you stand for. I will miss your sharing and caring. Go in peace. Love and hugs, K

  10. Linda and Alan says:

    Munroe,
    You have brought your keen intellect, great wisdom and good humour to everything you have touched.
    We will miss you.
    Linda and Alan Slavin

    • Munroe Scott says:

      To whatever extent you are correct in this I hope you recognize that it has been contact with folk like you that has helped stimulate not only me but many others.. May Peace be with you.

  11. Lynn Moir Hopkins says:

    Munroe Scott
    We are so pleased to have known you, Munroe. Continued blessing from your old gang at the Peterborough NDP. We will always remember you with thanks for all you do. May peace be with you evermore. I expect to join you within the next 10 years, maybe sooner. Lynn Moir Hopkins

  12. Lynn Moir Hopkins says:

    Munroe Scott
    We are so pleased t have known you, Munroe. Continued blessings from your old gang at the Peterborough NDP. We will always remember you with thanks for all you do. May peace be with you evermore. I expect to join you within the next 10 years, maybe sooner. Look up my sisters –
    Dianne, Florence and Beatrice and brother, Victor Peters, who are all already there.
    Lynn Moir Hopkins

  13. Thank you for this, and your words over the years, you’ve moved me beyond words, I truly appreciate the gift. Rest well.

  14. dianeforrest says:

    Hi Munroe…… I was sad to receive your latest post but happy, I guess, that you are captain of your fate. It sounds like you have a date in mind. Do you feel like a visit? A call? Perhaps I've already missed you.  Regardless, I'm glad to hear they've kept you comfortable. My sister Sue got amazing results with palliative chemo. Thanks for reminding me of Pauline Gedge. I'm sure I read some of her books as a kid, but can't remember which ones. (And I'm not sure I ever knew that she was Canadian.) I have been deep in the world of podcasts — particularly history podcasts — for the last few years, and know a whole lot more about late Roman, medieval, Byzantine and Egyptian history than I ever knew there was to know. So I think I'll go back and take another look.      Whatever the situation is, this is a classy way to say goodbye to your audience. And if there's no opportunity to see you or write again, then goodbye old friend. You have been a great help and a unique person in my life. I will always remember all our visits vividly (unless I'm struck with the dreaded dementia, which you obviously never were) and our shared Bob McClure obsession. (I will continue to champion him.) You were the first person to serve me gin with bitters, and that's worth something! BTW, if you or someone is still there, consider sending me your play. I'm involved with Alumnae Theatre again, and perhaps I can persuade someone there to do something with it. As you may know, we have a number of Forces-of-Nature in their 90s who would probably find your adventure interesting. Not to mention me.

    • Munroe Scott says:

      Thanks Diane. I’m not giving ou a date but let’s just say there’s no visiting time. I’ll draw my heirs’ attention to your comments about the script. Very odd creative process gloing on here, I must admit. You stay well and keep holding the McClure torch high.

  15. evmustang says:

    Munroe,
    It has been an honour to get to know you, to work with you, to chat with you and even to go toe to toe with you a couple of times while we were working on The Orator.

    I still have the books you gave me when you were downsizing for your (not so recent, now) move and have chipped away at each of them in my slow way.

    Thank you so much for your smart words, your sense of humour, your understanding of “the long game” and your drive to provide insight to all of us with your posts, your plays and all of your writing and conversations.

    I have been thinking about you lately and while this post brings me some measure of sorrow, I am happy that you are able to navigate your own destiny and that you have been able to say goodbye in a way that give us all a little more understanding of your deep compassion, even for yourself. It’s an all too rare and golden thing you have in your heart.

    I am proud to call you a friend and an inspiration.

    xo and goodbye
    -Esther

  16. Munroe Scott says:

    Esther, this blog would not exist without your generous and expert help in setting it up and repelling gremlins. I thank you for your patience and understanding. May your own creative endeavours flourish..

Leave a comment